Catcher in the Rye – Review

This book made me feel like a Neanderthal. Not because it made me look at my life and realise any hidden truths about myself. No. I feel like a Neanderthal because I just didn’t get it.Catcher in the Rye - J.D.Salinger

The book follows Holden Caulfield, a misfit teenager who is kicked out of yet another posh school. He leaves the school early and heads to New York where he spends two nights ambling around by himself.

This was possibly the kak’est book I’ve read! This is why I feel like a complete moron. I just didn’t get it. It’s meant to be this great novel, but it sucked. It’s a kid who just rambles on about nothing at all. The only noticeable thing is that he calls everyone a “goddam phony and all” (way too much – to the point of irritation) but in the end he is a bit of a “phony” himself. I think if you read this book in the fifties it may have made more of an impact, but now (with modern media the way it is)  the novel has lost its shocking punch. Now it’s just another angry teenager story. Ho-hum.

If you consider yourself a literary person, or are studying the written word, read this novel. But if you’re reading because you want to enjoy your novel…skip it.

3 thoughts on “Catcher in the Rye – Review

  1. I didn’t get it either.

    Maybe you have to be an American to understand it.
    Or an idiot.

    Being neither, I just thought it was boring and pointless.

    D7

  2. That’s exactly how I felt. I forced myself to keep reading through the boredom, because I was sure that something was going to happen soon. It must. People love this book, there MUST be something coming up. Sadly, there wasn’t. Nothing ever happens.

    Very disappointing.

  3. i loved catcher cos i felt i could relate to holden.the sense taht you want to save everybody.yes it snot wow but for some reason people who are blessed with ADHD just love him

Say something...

