I’m a novelist…wait, what?

 

Never, in my wildest dreams did I ever think I’d utter the words, “I’m a novelist”.

Now here I am. A novelist. Well, that’s not totally true. In truth I only just recently earned the title “Blogger”.  By the end of November, however, there’s a chance – about the same chance a Russian peasant has of becoming an astronaut (are they still called Cosmonauts, or did that term die with the Cold War? I’m not sure) – that I may be able to call myself a novelist.  You see I have signed up for NaNoWriMo, which is basically a project where you write a 50000 word kamikaze novel.  (Follow the link for more information)

NaNoWriMo.org

Last night, being a supportive fiance, I attended the kick-off party for the Port Elizabeth region. My fiancée is taking part, and I fully expect her to succeed on account of her being awesome and all. While there, I was taken in by all the excitement that was generated by the Municipal Liaison for Port Elizabeth. David Seven really enjoys writing and put in heaps of effort to make the newbies feel welcome and motivated to take part in the project. So I’m sitting there, surrounded by writers, all excited and eager eyed. Then it happened. I threw my name into the hat. Literally, there was a hat…although it had script suggestions in it and not real names, but  still I wrote some suggestions and put them in the hat. The metaphor is therefore complete.

Besides, what else was I to do? I have nothing to lose…and the buggers are having write-ins at my house every week anyway 😉

So now I’m entered. I don’t fully expect to actually finish. The most I’ve ever written in one piece is probably about 1500 words. Now suddenly I’m committed to writing that every day…for a month. Then again, if you told me a week ago that I’d call myself blogger by the end of the week, my most likely reaction would’ve been an audible belly laugh. Yet here I am, blogging. <– still proud of that 🙂

 

I think what I’m trying to say is: You’re only limited by your own mindset.

In the words of Henry Ford: “If you think you can, or you think you can’t…you’re right!”

 

Happy November everyone.

I am a novelist.

 

5 thoughts on “I’m a novelist…wait, what?

Say something...

